School of Rock – Day 8 – Leadership Planning and Preparation

SUMMARY

Today was great. I finally finished mixing and mastering my album, I learned more about songwriting styles and techniques, and I learned how to train my ears for mixing.

LEADERSHIP ACTIVITY

I would like to make a song with aAndreas and also work on my own project which I will probably mostly do in my own time

PRACTICE ROOM (GUITAR LESSONS)

I watched the first video and then worked on the song I started yesterday.

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Notes:

-The importance of silence and letting the music breathe in a song

-Sometimes in mixing you only want to sand, not shave

I watched more of the wholistic songwriting artist series and worked more on the piece.

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

Worked on mixing my album

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

worked more on song

STUDIO (SONGWRITING)

I finished mastering my new album 🙂

CONTROL ROOM (RECORDING & MIXING)

Finished the last little mastering bits in my album and exported all my songs.

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

Problem: I have muddiness in my mix

Solution: EQ

I also learned more about songwriting techniques and chord progressions

TODAY’s ACTIVITY EVALUATION

  • Give feedback on the class Content and Process
    • Participation will be part of your leadership project due at the end of the course
  • Fill in the Daily Activity Evaluation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *